top of page

Welcome to D.M. Cain


Don't miss my Author Party Event (http://4Wills¬DMCain.chatovod.com/) on Friday, January 15th at 1pm CST!! GIVEAWAYS: (2) book bundles - (1) paperback of THE PHOENIX PROJECT along with (1) paperback of her children's book, SOREN! To be eligible to win one of these sets, merely leave a comment on any stop along the tour, including this one and you could be one of our two lucky winners!!!

An Interview with D.M Cain about The Phoenix Project

Interviewer: To begin with, let’s start with the logic behind the pen name…

D.M. Cain: I knew I wanted a pen name but wasn’t sure where to start. I read an interesting tip that suggested picking a name that would place you alphabetically between two readers you admire. I adore Suzanne Collins and Terry Brooks, so I chose Cain. I also liked the dark connotations of the name Cain, which fitted perfectly as my work is often quite sinister and brooding :) The D and M represent my husband, Matt, and son, Deacon.

Interviewer: Would you say Collins and Brooks had a lot of influence on your choice of themes and plots?

D.M. Cain: The themes and plot for my first novel, The Phoenix Project, were decided long before I read anything by either author, but since reading their work I have added extra details or changed elements based on things that inspired me from these writers. Especially Collins’ Hunger Games which was a big influence on

What does it mean?the way that the fight superstars are glorified in the prison. My fantasy series is heavily influenced by Terry Brooks’ The Word and The Void trilogy, which focuses on demons, destiny and changing the future.

Interviewer: You seem to have got a great grip on dystopia – any particular reason why you chose a dystopian, rather than a utopian one?

D.M. Cain: I think I’m just naturally drawn to the dark and depressing! Growing up, I was fascinated by the classic works of dystopian literature – 1984, A Handmaid’s Tale, A Brave New World, Lord of the Flies, A Clockwork Orange. These were the first books I read as a teenager which really affected me on a personal level, and I was drawn into their harrowing worlds whole-heartedly. Since then, I’ve always been attracted to films and books with sad endings, oppressive governments and definitely tragic love stories!

Interviewer: Was it then to make your readers bond better with Raven of The Phoenix Project, that you gave him such a difficult past and emotional turmoil to come to terms with?

D.M. Cain: Yes, I think it’s partly that. I also feel that happiness and fulfilment are more profound if the reader has taken a long and difficult journey with the protagonist. They’ve struggled through hell side by side and have finally reached the end together. Sometimes it’s a happy end and both can sigh with relief and relax into the happiness together. Sometimes it’s a bad ending and the reader can be left with that incredible hollow ache in the pit of your stomach that hurts but leaves you with an impression you’ll never forget.

I have given Raven many an obstacle to overcome! In the hope that his redemption will be all the more profound for it.

Interviewer: One of his biggest obstacles being surviving battles of death at The Phoenix Project. What made you choose the legend’s name for this battleground?

D.M. Cain: I liked the concept of purging through fire and allowing rebirth. The twisted government in The Phoenix Project have the idea that fire is to eradicate everything they don’t like, everything they fear, and hope for a more peaceful and controlled society to be born again, but there is a more personal element of this for Raven himself:

Will Raven survive the flames, and allow himself to be reborn again?

Interviewer: I would say that dilemma rests within all of us? Scary though it might sound,

D.M. Cain: Yes, and that’s really the biggest battle that Raven faces. He has to will himself to survive when all he really wants to do is curl up in his cell and rot.

Coming out of that depression is not something he is strong enough to do by himself – he needs the help of the other crucial people he comes into contact with.

Interviewer: And in such a context, how important or significant the support from the other characters?

D.M. Cain: They are absolutely vital to Raven’s journey. Each of the people he meets in the prison has a crucial role in what happens. Even the nastier characters have an impact on who he is, how he sees himself and the world around him. It is the combined effect of each and every character in the book that leads to the final conclusion (which is a secret!)

Interviewer: How would DM Cain’s look differ from Raven’s – with respect to forgiving oneself, letting go of guilt?

D.M. Cain: A lot of my personal opinions on the matter are actually mentioned by the character Kiri in the book – she’s my mouthpiece! She gets to say to Raven all the things I’m dying to say! I think that the past is in the past and nobody benefits from hanging on to lingering regret and remorse. I also believe that feeling suicidal in a place like Salverford is wrong, when so many people are being brutally killed when they would love to continue living. One of my favourite lines from the entire book is: “Wishing for death is an insult to those who have it forced upon them.”

Interviewer: I would say Kiri is a very effective foil to Raven’s character in the book – very level-hearted with her head firmly on her shoulders…

D.M. Cain: Definitely, she keeps him afloat when he begins to drown in his own self hatred.

Interviewer: Well, I would love to talk on DM, but I know you lead a busy work and family life… and I wouldn’t dare take away all your “me-time” keeping you from writing the Shield of Soren.

Thanks for being here today and knowing that the Phoenix Project will be a huge success, let me wish you a great writing career ahead!

D.M. Cain: It’s been absolutely delightful to talk to you! Thank you very much!

Biography D.M. Cain is a dystopian and fantasy author working for US publisher Booktrope. She has released three novels: The Phoenix Project - a psychological thriller set in a dystopian future, Soren – a middle-grade fantasy, and A Chronicle of Chaos – the first in a dark fantasy series. She is currently working on the next novel in the series, 'The Shield of Soren', and a novella to accompany it.

D.M. Cain is also a member of the International Thriller Writers and is one of the creators and administrators of the online author group #Awethors. Her short story ‘The End’ was published in Awethology Dark – an anthology by the #Awethors.

Cain lives in Leicestershire, UK, with her husband and young son, and spends her time reading, writing and reviewing books, playing RPGs and listening to symphonic metal.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Twitter Basic Square
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page